Church of Saints Peter and Paul

Grade I listed This large perpendicular church in a relatively remote location was built between around 1405 and 1420. It was financed by at least four Lords of Manors and other men with wealth acquired from wool. There were at least six Guilds Chapels, and a chaplain and clerks in each Chapel prayed daily for donors' souls. There is a west tower, north and south porch with parvises, nave with clerestory, north and south aisles, north and south transepts and chancel. The west tower is of four stages, the last stage was built around 1511. There is a west door with censing Angels and Shields over it. The centre of the tower has a "sound hole" with delicate tracery. The top has richly decorated battlements. There are eight bells. The north and south porches are of two storeys, with stair turret access. The north porch parvise has a vaulted ceiling with carved bosses. There is the remains of a piscina, and this was probably a Lady Chapel. The south porch has a standard beamed roof, and the parvise was probably a Treasury, as the timbers of the roof have iron bands for protection. The nave has six-bay arcades, the piers having four shafts. There is a tall clerestory, and a window over the chancel arch. The chancel has a seven light east window of plain glass with some mediaeval glass in the tracery depicting the nine orders of Angels. The south transept has a four light south window and a three light east window. There is some mediaeval glass in the traceries. The north transept, originally a Chapel of Thomas Rose, d. 1441, was restored in 1910 by Sir Alfred Jodrell. He donated three stained-glass windows, some of which have original glass in the tracery. The western window represents the history of the church. The top four lights of the west window contain a message "Hear this ye old men and give ear all ye inhabitants of the land, hath this been in your days or even in the days of your fathers?". The north window has been blocked. The roof, like many other East Anglian
Grade I listed This large perpendicular church in a relatively remote location was built between around 1405 and 1420. It was financed by at least four Lords of Manors and other men with wealth acquired from wool. There were at least six Guilds Chapels, and a chaplain and clerks in each Chapel prayed daily for donors' souls. There is a west tower, north and south porch with parvises, nave with clerestory, north and south aisles, north and south transepts and chancel. The west tower is of four stages, the last stage was built around 1511. There is a west door with censing Angels and Shields over it. The centre of the tower has a "sound hole" with delicate tracery. The top has richly decorated battlements. There are eight bells. The north and south porches are of two storeys, with stair turret access. The north porch parvise has a vaulted ceiling with carved bosses. There is the remains of a piscina, and this was probably a Lady Chapel. The south porch has a standard beamed roof, and the parvise was probably a Treasury, as the timbers of the roof have iron bands for protection. The nave has six-bay arcades, the piers having four shafts. There is a tall clerestory, and a window over the chancel arch. The chancel has a seven light east window of plain glass with some mediaeval glass in the tracery depicting the nine orders of Angels. The south transept has a four light south window and a three light east window. There is some mediaeval glass in the traceries. The north transept, originally a Chapel of Thomas Rose, d. 1441, was restored in 1910 by Sir Alfred Jodrell. He donated three stained-glass windows, some of which have original glass in the tracery. The western window represents the history of the church. The top four lights of the west window contain a message "Hear this ye old men and give ear all ye inhabitants of the land, hath this been in your days or even in the days of your fathers?". The north window has been blocked. The roof, like many other East Anglian Author: Jules & Jenny from Lincoln, UK, License: CC BY 2.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.