Church of St John the Baptist, Outwood

St John the Baptist Church, Outwood. In the middle of the 1800s Alfred and Mary Lloyd were the owners of the Harewoods Estate, an extensive farm and forest area south of Lower Nutfield. They set about the process of creating a parish and providing a parish church – in the main for their employees. The church building was constructed in a plain 'lancet' style to a design by the celebrated architect, William Burges, who designed Cardiff Castle. In 1869 the church building was completed and dedicated with the creation of the parish of St John the Baptist, Outwood. The church comprises a nave of five bays and a chancel with a broad, square tower at the west end. This 'saddle-back' tower was added to the church in 1874 by W. P. Manning and contains, unusually, 4 bells.
St John the Baptist Church, Outwood. In the middle of the 1800s Alfred and Mary Lloyd were the owners of the Harewoods Estate, an extensive farm and forest area south of Lower Nutfield. They set about the process of creating a parish and providing a parish church – in the main for their employees. The church building was constructed in a plain 'lancet' style to a design by the celebrated architect, William Burges, who designed Cardiff Castle. In 1869 the church building was completed and dedicated with the creation of the parish of St John the Baptist, Outwood. The church comprises a nave of five bays and a chancel with a broad, square tower at the west end. This 'saddle-back' tower was added to the church in 1874 by W. P. Manning and contains, unusually, 4 bells. Author: Richard Rogerson, License: CC BY-SA 2.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.