Museum van het Heilig Bloed

The basilica of the Holy Blood was built between 1134 and 1157 by the Count Diederik van de Elzas. Ever since it was built it was a double church, the ground floor was able to maintain its Roman character, while the top church got deteriorated. It wasn't untill the 19th century that restaurations began. The original name of the chapel was Saint Baselius Chapel. According to the legend Diederik van de Elzas would have brought the Holy Blood of Jesus Christ to Bruges. The relic of the Holy Blood is kept in the chapel of the church ever since the 13th century. The relic is probably from Constantinople, from were it was brought to Bruges. Count Baldwin IX was partly responsible. . Location for the film In Bruges (2007).
The basilica of the Holy Blood was built between 1134 and 1157 by the Count Diederik van de Elzas. Ever since it was built it was a double church, the ground floor was able to maintain its Roman character, while the top church got deteriorated. It wasn't untill the 19th century that restaurations began. The original name of the chapel was Saint Baselius Chapel. According to the legend Diederik van de Elzas would have brought the Holy Blood of Jesus Christ to Bruges. The relic of the Holy Blood is kept in the chapel of the church ever since the 13th century. The relic is probably from Constantinople, from were it was brought to Bruges. Count Baldwin IX was partly responsible. . Location for the film In Bruges (2007). Author: Jim Linwood, License: CC BY 2.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.