Old Church of St. John the Baptist

Slebech Old Parish Church The modern OS maps just show this church as a rectangle, so the elaborate cruciform church comes as a surprise. It was abandoned when the "new" church (SN0215) was built in 1848. It was previously the parish church, and up to the Dissolution, the conventual church of the Commandery of the Knights of St John - hence its dedication to John the Baptist. The Commandery was on the site of Slebech Hall, 80 m northwest.
Slebech Old Parish Church The modern OS maps just show this church as a rectangle, so the elaborate cruciform church comes as a surprise. It was abandoned when the "new" church (SN0215) was built in 1848. It was previously the parish church, and up to the Dissolution, the conventual church of the Commandery of the Knights of St John - hence its dedication to John the Baptist. The Commandery was on the site of Slebech Hall, 80 m northwest. Author: Dylan Moore, License: CC BY-SA 2.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.