Remains of Holy Rood Church, The Lawn, Old Town

Holy Rood church, Swindon All that remains of the original church is the chancel, now occasionally used as a chapel. Holy Rood, first recorded in 1154, served the small, pre-railway hilltop town of Swindon. By the 1840s it was clear Holy Rood was inadequate for the growing population, and Sir George Gilbert Scott's Christ Church was dedicated in 1851. In 1852 Holy Rood was demolished, apart from the chancel and a few pillars. Holy Rood is located on The Lawn, a public park once property of the landowning Goddard family. The Goddard tomb is between chapel and tree.
Holy Rood church, Swindon All that remains of the original church is the chancel, now occasionally used as a chapel. Holy Rood, first recorded in 1154, served the small, pre-railway hilltop town of Swindon. By the 1840s it was clear Holy Rood was inadequate for the growing population, and Sir George Gilbert Scott's Christ Church was dedicated in 1851. In 1852 Holy Rood was demolished, apart from the chancel and a few pillars. Holy Rood is located on The Lawn, a public park once property of the landowning Goddard family. The Goddard tomb is between chapel and tree. Author: Chris Randall, License: CC BY-SA 2.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.