St. Alban the Martyr Anglican Church

St. Alban the Martyr Anglican Church, 539 Main Street in Glen Williams, Ontario, Canada. The St. Albans Church (539 Main Street) and rectory site (537 Main Street) is made up of lots 1 and 47 of the original Charles Kennedy survey as well as additional land along the Credit River. Lot 1 was first sold in 1838 to George McElvery from Benajah Williams. It passed through several owners and in 1856 was split, with the southerly half eventually being left to the church by Rose Ann McMaster, widow of William McMaster. The first services were held in her house, which had been converted for this purpose. The conerstone of St. Alban the Martyr was laid in 1902, and the church opened in June of following year. The architect was F. S. Baker, the son of a woollen miller in Kilbride, and a friend of Joesph Beaumont. F.S. Baker would later become the 2nd President of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada from 1910-1912. The adjacent site, Lot 47, was first purchased by Thomas Alexander in 1859 from Charles Williams. Alexander, a Blacksmith, operated a shop on the site for a number of years. The lot was eventually sold to the church and the existing Rectory was built.
St. Alban the Martyr Anglican Church, 539 Main Street in Glen Williams, Ontario, Canada. The St. Albans Church (539 Main Street) and rectory site (537 Main Street) is made up of lots 1 and 47 of the original Charles Kennedy survey as well as additional land along the Credit River. Lot 1 was first sold in 1838 to George McElvery from Benajah Williams. It passed through several owners and in 1856 was split, with the southerly half eventually being left to the church by Rose Ann McMaster, widow of William McMaster. The first services were held in her house, which had been converted for this purpose. The conerstone of St. Alban the Martyr was laid in 1902, and the church opened in June of following year. The architect was F. S. Baker, the son of a woollen miller in Kilbride, and a friend of Joesph Beaumont. F.S. Baker would later become the 2nd President of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada from 1910-1912. The adjacent site, Lot 47, was first purchased by Thomas Alexander in 1859 from Charles Williams. Alexander, a Blacksmith, operated a shop on the site for a number of years. The lot was eventually sold to the church and the existing Rectory was built. Author: Ken Heaton, License: CC BY-SA 4.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.