St Pancras Old Church Garden Gates And Railings To Road Frontage

This is a photo of listed building number 1001689. The Old Church has been on this site since AD314. It is totally reconstructed, the current restoration began in 1847 with the removal of the old tower and the construction of the new tower on the south side. This is a photo of listed building number 1113246. The church yard was enlarged in 1727 and later with the addition of 'in the fields' graveyards for St Giles and St Georges.In 1863 graves were moved to give land to the Midland Railway Company, and operation overseen by the Thomas Hardy. This lead to the Burdett Coutts memorial to the lost graves, and a fine 1877 vertical declining sundial.
This is a photo of listed building number 1001689. The Old Church has been on this site since AD314. It is totally reconstructed, the current restoration began in 1847 with the removal of the old tower and the construction of the new tower on the south side. This is a photo of listed building number 1113246. The church yard was enlarged in 1727 and later with the addition of 'in the fields' graveyards for St Giles and St Georges.In 1863 graves were moved to give land to the Midland Railway Company, and operation overseen by the Thomas Hardy. This lead to the Burdett Coutts memorial to the lost graves, and a fine 1877 vertical declining sundial. Author: Photograph by Clem Rutter, Rochester, Kent. (www.clemrutter.net)., License: CC BY-SA 3.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.