University of Michigan Museum of Art

Built in 1908-1910, this Classical Revival-style building was designed by Donaldson and Meier to serve as the Alumni Memorial Hall for the University of Michigan, home to the university’s alumni department, which moved out of the building in 1967 due to the expansion of the other tenant of the building, the University of Michigan Museum of Art. The building was renovated and expanded in 2009, under the direction of Brad Cloepfil and Allied Works Architecture, adding a new wing to the north of the original building and doubling the interior space of the museum. The original building is clad in limestone with a front doric portico, cornice with modillions, hipped roof, and paneled exterior, with the addition being clad in limestone and metal panels, with large glass curtain walls and windows placed irregularly around the exterior. The older section of the building is a contributing structure in the University of Michigan Central Campus Historic District, listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.
Built in 1908-1910, this Classical Revival-style building was designed by Donaldson and Meier to serve as the Alumni Memorial Hall for the University of Michigan, home to the university’s alumni department, which moved out of the building in 1967 due to the expansion of the other tenant of the building, the University of Michigan Museum of Art. The building was renovated and expanded in 2009, under the direction of Brad Cloepfil and Allied Works Architecture, adding a new wing to the north of the original building and doubling the interior space of the museum. The original building is clad in limestone with a front doric portico, cornice with modillions, hipped roof, and paneled exterior, with the addition being clad in limestone and metal panels, with large glass curtain walls and windows placed irregularly around the exterior. The older section of the building is a contributing structure in the University of Michigan Central Campus Historic District, listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978. Author: w_lemay, License: CC BY-SA 2.0 · Source

Discussion

No posts or comments for this place yet.